Child of God


When we meet somebody new, It’s customary in our culture to identify ourselves not only by name, but with some type of description of who we are, or, more accurately, who we view ourselves as. The way we identify ourselves often directly ties into how we view our worth. The more prestigious our title- the more valuable we are, in not only the eyes of society, but our own eyes as well. But, what if, in a split second, all of our titles, all of our positions, anything we need to show the value of our identity, what if it was all stripped away? Who would you tell the world you are then?

Who would you be if you weren’t (insert your name), the doctor, or the lawyer, or the nurse, or the teacher, or the police officer, or the housekeeper, or the chef, or the artist, or the mother, father, brother, sister? Who would you be?

This is a question I have found myself wrestling with time and again. Who I am? What is my value? Am I more, is there more? What is my identity? What is my place in this world?

John 1:12 tells us, “But to all who did receive Him, who believed in His name, He gave the right to become children of God.”

Friends, did you catch that? Because we are followers of Jesus, because we have accepted Him into our hearts, we have a title beyond any earthly title. We are children of God. That means that no matter how the world tells me I should identify myself, no matter how the world tells me I should find my value, no matter who the world tells me I am or I am not- when it’s all stripped away, I am His. I am a child of God, and he has claimed me as his own, precious, beautiful, daughter. I can’t think of a more wonderful title. I know at times this doesn’t seem real. Especially when the world feels like it’s crashing in around us, and we find ourselves asking, “why God?”, and we find ourselves wanting to give up because we feel like everything is so hard. In these moments it’s hard to believe that God is parenting us. That God is right there holding our hand, helping us push through just a bit more. It’s hard to believe in these moments that he has his beautiful babies swaddled up in blankets of his love, but as I’ve recently seen, it’s true. He’s the father our weary souls long for. He’s the daddy that protects us from harm, and even from ourselves. He’s the papa who holds us tight when we are crying, and kicking, and screaming trying so hard to give up this fight. But when we surrender our earthly fight, and let the one who named us as His take over, big, brilliant, miraculous things happen. And it’s all because we are His. We belong. We are loved.

It’s taken me a long time to realize any of this, but tonight I know “who the son sets free, is free indeed. I’m a child of God, yes I am.” And so are you. So I encourage you tonight, to lay it all down and find your life with Him. It’s so very hard, but I promise you, it’s worth it.

Leave a comment